10 Reasons why YOU should study abroad/ have a gap year

Hello there!

Here are my Top 10 reasons why YOU should study abroad/ have a gap year!

 

1. You will meet people/ make friends on the other side of the world!

This is your ONE TIME opportunity to make amazing friends from all over the world.

Make amazing memories and have experiences you would not even dream of.

Nobody knows what it feels like if they haven’t been abroad themselves- Get the experience!

 

2. You will get way more independent and gain lots of selfesteem!

While being alone for a year, the first time away from your family and friends, all alone on the other site of the world where nobody speaks your mother tongue , you will learn how to help yourself and not always depent on others. You will recognize how much you can do by yourself and you’ll see that you are capable of way more than you thought.

3. Improve your laguage skills

Of course this is not just all about the fun, you will also recognize how much your language skills will improve when staying at a country for a longer time. You are forced to speak that language otherwise nobody will understand you and so you will learn alot from the native speakers, your teachers and also from Radio and TV. And soon you will have the people around you telling you how much your vocabulary and you pronounciation has changed.

 

4. Experience other cultures

Firstly when you go away, you will feel homesick or just get overwhelmed by everything around you being so much different. Other countries – other customs. Of course everybody knows that things are different in other places but actually being there and expriencing them is a whole other story believe me!
But don’t worry it’s totally normal to feel out of place at first – everybody feels that way. But don’t let it encourage you. People get used to things quite fast, trust me after your first 2 weeks being over I bet you already feel like home and have never lived somewhere else. You will quickly get used to customs and places and discoer the public transport system and stores around you faster than you think.

So don’t worry! Experiencing the life somewhere is not comparable to reading or watching a documentation about it!

 

5. Manage your finances yourself!

When being abroad all by yourself this might be the first time you see what it feels like to manage your finances. You’ve got your budget and have to live with it. To be honest this is the one thing that I had to learn wile being abroad. I had spent most of my all year budget at the beginning and so had much trouble at the end to manage my finances. I learned how to spend my money when abroad and to be more careful with the choice of things I buy.

For me this was a really good experience to figure out how to manage my finances. When travelling now I don’t have these problems anymore 😀

 

6. Learn about yourself!

Going abroad for a while is the perfect way to learn about yourself! The “abroad exprience” often is a challenge and may makes you reconsider your own beliefs and values or it may strengthen them. You may embrace new concepts and perceptions and the encounter with other cultures enables you to see your own culture through different eyes.

 

7. Expand your view on the world!

Staying abroad will change your life forever! You’ll never see the world as you did before – And this is good!

Becuase you will learn and experience so much about others. You will return home with an informed and much less biased perspective toward other cultures and peoples.

 

8. Employment opportunities!

Of course this is also a great way to improve your employment opportunities as the world become more and more globalized.

 

9. Find new interests!

Studying in a different country offers many new activities and interests that you may never have discovered if you’d stayed at home. You might find that you have an as-yet undiscovered talent or interest.

As for me I discovered that I have a strong interest in travelling, other laguages cultures and customs.

 

10. Everyone needs a break once in a while!

So why not having a break after finishing your “school career” and before starting your “business career”

 

 

For me it was the best time of my life and I never would wanna miss this experience!  I can strongly recomment it to everybody it will change your life in a good way! Can’t imagine life without my abroad friends!

24 thoughts on “10 Reasons why YOU should study abroad/ have a gap year

  1. I love this list. In fact, I just recently posted my top ten reasons to study abroad on my blog, so it was interesting to see how ours were similar in some ways and different in others. I think everyone has their own reasons why it is so important for them. All I know for sure is that you will only regret not going.

    Beautiful blog!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your feedback im very interested in reading your top 10! 😀
      I totally agree no matter for what reason you go – you definitely miss out if you don’t ! I’m really grateful I had the chance to 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for checking out my blog, Finding Ourselves at Home in the World, which is a take-off from my coming-of-age travel memoir, At Home in the World: Travel Stories of Growing Up and Growing Away. It covers my life from age 10 to 27 years of age.

    I shared your 10 Reasons to Study Abroad with our Global program director at our local liberal arts university in my hometown. I think your ideas should be shared with college students everywhere.

    Way to go, Denise.I’ll keep an eye on your blog for things I may want to share with my fans.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I adore these sentiments as one whose mind is just as curious about other cultures. Very nice, thank you! We are not alone and there remains so much to learn.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment